Is HostPapa a good web host?
A reasonable one for the right buyer: a small business, often Canadian, that wants a phone number to call and a data center it can name. The plans are ordinary cPanel hosting, and HostPapa is more honest about renewals than most. The two things to understand are that the headline prices require three years upfront, and that the backups quietly become a paid add-on after year one. Everything in this review is a published fact we checked on the date given, a third-party assessment cited by name, or a gap we name as a gap.
What do you get on each plan?
| Plan | Websites | Storage | CPU and RAM | Backups | Mailboxes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | 1 | 25 GB | 1x (HostPapa publishes relative tiers) | 1 GB automated backups, free for the first year only | Not stated on the plan card |
| Growth | 5 | 100 GB | 2x | 5 GB automated backups, free for the first year only | Not stated on the plan card |
| Premium | Unlimited | 200 GB | 4x | Automated backups, free for the first year only | Not stated on the plan card |
| Elite | Unlimited | Unlimited | 8x | Automated backups, free for the first year only | Not stated on the plan card |
Essentials
- Websites
- 1
- Storage
- 25 GB
- CPU and RAM
- 1x (HostPapa publishes relative tiers)
- Backups
- 1 GB automated backups, free for the first year only
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Growth
- Websites
- 5
- Storage
- 100 GB
- CPU and RAM
- 2x
- Backups
- 5 GB automated backups, free for the first year only
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Premium
- Websites
- Unlimited
- Storage
- 200 GB
- CPU and RAM
- 4x
- Backups
- Automated backups, free for the first year only
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Elite
- Websites
- Unlimited
- Storage
- Unlimited
- CPU and RAM
- 8x
- Backups
- Automated backups, free for the first year only
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Every plan includes NVMe storage, unmetered bandwidth, a free domain for the first year on terms of one year or longer, a standard SSL certificate, a CDN, staging, CloudLinux servers, free website migration and 24/7 support. Essentials gets basic Imunify360 security; Growth and above get Protection Power with Imunify360 for the full term. Resources are described as 1x, 2x, 4x and 8x “server resources”, a relative measure HostPapa does not translate into cores, RAM or inodes on the plan cards.
The backup line deserves its own sentence: Essentials includes 1 GB and Growth 5 GB of automated backups “free for the first year”. After that, automated website backup is an add-on with its own renewal price on the renewal pricing page.
What does it cost?
| Plan | Monthly | 36 months |
|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $12.99/mosame at renewal | $2.95/mothen $8.99/mo |
| Growth | $17.99/mosame at renewal | $5.95/mothen $13.99/mo |
| Premium | $24.99/mosame at renewal | $6.95/mothen $19.99/mo |
| Elite | $30.99/mosame at renewal | $9.95/mothen $27.99/mo |
Essentials
- Monthly
- $12.99/mosame at renewal
- 36 months
- $2.95/morenews $8.99/mo
Growth
- Monthly
- $17.99/mosame at renewal
- 36 months
- $5.95/morenews $13.99/mo
Premium
- Monthly
- $24.99/mosame at renewal
- 36 months
- $6.95/morenews $19.99/mo
Elite
- Monthly
- $30.99/mosame at renewal
- 36 months
- $9.95/morenews $27.99/mo
The promotional prices on the plan cards ($2.95 to $9.95 per month) apply to a three-year term. HostPapa’s renewal pricing page, which we read on 13 October 2026, gives the regular rate for every term:
| Plan | Monthly | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $12.99 | $10.99 ($131.88) | $9.99 ($239.76) | $8.99 ($323.64) |
| Growth | $17.99 | $15.99 ($191.88) | $14.99 ($359.76) | $13.99 ($503.64) |
| Premium | $24.99 | $21.99 ($263.88) | $20.99 ($503.76) | $19.99 ($719.64) |
| Elite | $30.99 | $29.99 ($359.88) | $28.99 ($695.76) | $27.99 ($1,007.64) |
Promotional prices for the 1-year and 2-year terms are not shown on the plan cards, so the table above lists the monthly and 3-year terms. The terms of service say promotional rates end without further notice at the end of the initial term; other price increases come with 30 days’ notice.
Six-year cost on the entry plan
| Route | Years 1 to 6 |
|---|---|
| 3-year promo, then 3-year renewal | $106.20 + $323.64 = $429.84 |
| Month to month | $12.99 × 72 = $935.28 |
How do refunds work?
The service guarantee page gives a full refund of hosting fees if you cancel within 30 days of signup, with domain names, domain privacy, setup fees, mobile websites and other add-ons excluded, and the clock starting at activation regardless of promotions or free trials. The plan cards add that cancelling in the first term triggers a non-refundable fee for the free domain. The terms of service state that amounts paid in advance are otherwise not refunded.
What does the uptime guarantee say?
The marketing pages promise a 99.9 percent uptime guarantee. The terms of service phrase it as HostPapa using reasonable efforts to keep hosting services available at least 99.9 percent of the time, measured monthly, excluding scheduled maintenance, which is any work done in a published maintenance window (midnight to 3 a.m. Toronto, London or Sydney time) or announced 48 hours ahead. We found no service credit schedule in the terms or on the guarantee page, so treat the figure as a target.
Where are the servers?
Five data centers: Toronto, Buffalo, Miami, Los Angeles and Amsterdam. The data centers page says customers can choose a location to match their regulatory needs, naming Toronto for Canadian data (PIPEDA) and Amsterdam for GDPR. The about page records the Amsterdam and California sites opening in 2020 and, in 2026, the acquisitions of Hostwinds (Seattle, Dallas and Amsterdam data centers) and Tailor Made Servers in Dallas under the ColoCrossing brand, which may add locations for other products.
How fast and reliable is it?
No one we found has published a year of monitoring for HostPapa. HostScore’s review by Jerry Low, published 4 September 2026 and updated 17 September 2026, scores HostPapa 82.53 percent, notes HTTP/2 and a global CDN, and says it has not run direct performance tests on HostPapa in the past 24 months. Three shorter measurements exist:
- WP Hive’s review by Tanvir Faisal, published 25 June 2026, reports 99.94 percent uptime over a 30-day test, without naming the tool, plan or location.
- BloggersPassion’s review by Anil Agarwal, updated 4 March 2026, reports 100 percent on UptimeRobot over the last 30 days and a GTmetrix full load of 638 milliseconds, without stating the plan or location.
- Bitcatcha’s review by Daren Low, updated 19 March 2026, runs test sites in Los Angeles, Toronto and Amsterdam. Its Server Speed Checker reads worldwide averages of 130.4, 121.7 and 143 milliseconds respectively, and WebPageTest measured a Largest Contentful Paint of 1.98 seconds on the US site. Its uptime widgets show a rounded “99%” for all three sites since September 2023, too coarse to compare with anything.
Nothing here is alarming and nothing is a track record. The stack is standard for the category: CloudLinux, NVMe, a CDN, no LiteSpeed or Redis mentioned on the plan cards.
How good is the support?
Phone, live chat and email, 24/7, with local phone numbers in 16 countries and staff spread across 37 countries, according to HostPapa. HostScore reports chat answering within seconds and ticket replies ranging from one to eight hours in one user’s experience. Trustpilot showed a 4.8 out of 5 score from about 2,800 reviews on 13 October 2026. We have not timed tickets ourselves and will add real ones to the support table on this page.
Who owns HostPapa, and where is it?
HostPapa, Inc. was founded in 2006 in Burlington, Ontario, by Jamie Opalchuk, who still leads it. The about page lists a long run of acquisitions: WebServe, MezzoHost, HostLabs, SecureLive, Canvas Host, Korax, Data Deposit Box, LFC Hosting, PacificHost, iHost, Deluxe Corporation’s hosting business, and in 2026 Hostwinds and Tailor Made Servers. The terms are governed by Ontario law.
What is missing or unclear?
- Cores, RAM and inode limits behind the 1x to 8x resource tiers.
- Promotional prices on the 1-year and 2-year terms.
- The price of the backup add-on after the first year, which sits on the renewal pricing page under its own heading.
- A long independent monitoring window with a stated plan and location; the three 30-day figures we found are from unstated plans and one does not name its tool.
- HostIdea’s own monitoring, support timing and load testing have not started.
Who should choose HostPapa, and who should look elsewhere?
Choose it if you want a Canadian or US data center you can pick, phone support in your language, and a host that tells you the renewal price before you buy. Growth is the sensible plan: five sites, 100 GB and the better security bundle for $5.95 a month on three years.
Look elsewhere if you want backups included for good (Flashcloud and FastComet keep 30 daily copies at no charge), published resource figures (Hosting.com prints cores and RAM), or a shorter commitment at the headline price.
How we scored this review
The scores on this page are provisional. Uptime and performance reflect the absence of measurements and a standard stack. Features credit staging, security and locations against the first-year-only backups and the vague resource tiers. Value weighs a three-year commitment and moderate renewals. Support reflects the channels, the country coverage and a large positive rating sample, not timed tickets. Each score will be recomputed when data exists, and the review history on this page will show the change.
