NameHero vs GoDaddy
NameHero and GoDaddy compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. NameHero scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
NameHeroWins overall
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
The largest registrar's cPanel hosting: three plans on a three-year term with a free domain and daily backups
NameHero wins 3 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.3 vs 7.2).
How do the scores compare?
NameHero leads on 3 sub-scores, GoDaddy on 1. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, NameHero is cheaper ($11.64/mo vs $11.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| NameHero | GoDaddy | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus | First year on every plan, marked with an asterisk whose disclaimer the page keeps collapsed |
| Free SSL | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan | One year on Economy; unlimited certificates for all sites on Deluxe and Ultimate, auto-renewed through AutoSSL |
| Backups | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart | Automatic daily backups, with recovery of the whole account from the previous day |
| Free migration | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team | No |
| Free CDN | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table | The page lists CDN and firewall among the included essentials without naming the provider |
| Caching | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans | No |
| Staging | No | No |
| Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | Free email is listed on every plan without a mailbox count | |
| Guaranteed resources | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment | Not stated |
| Data center choice | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan | No |
| Uptime guarantee | No | 99.9% per month in the hosting agreement, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee on request, usable for future purchases |
| SSH | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table | Not stated |
| Security | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart | DDoS protection and network monitoring on every plan; a site security suite is included on the cards |
| Phone support | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock | 24/7 chat, phone and email through GoDaddy Guides |
| Node.js and languages | Not stated | Node.js on every plan; the dashboard exposes CPU, memory, entry processes and I/O controls |
| Resource limits | Not stated | 250,000 inodes and 100 GB per account in the hosting agreement; no CPU or RAM figures on the plan page |
| Windows hosting | Not stated | No |