KnownHost vs NameHero
KnownHost and NameHero compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. KnownHost scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
KnownHostWins overall
Managed cPanel hosting since 2006 on LiteSpeed and NVMe with stated cores and RAM, daily backups and three locations
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
KnownHost wins 1 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.4 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
KnownHost leads on 1 sub-scores, NameHero on 0. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, KnownHost is cheaper ($7.16/mo vs $11.64/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| KnownHost | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus |
| Free SSL | Every plan, every domain | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan |
| Backups | Daily JetBackup with 2-day and 1-week retention on every plan; extended retention sold as an add-on | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart |
| Free migration | Migration team copies files, databases and email and tests the site | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team |
| Free CDN | No | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table |
| Caching | LiteSpeed Web Server with LSCache on every plan; Redis and Memcached optional | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans |
| Staging | No | No |
| SSH, Git and cron | Every plan, with current PHP versions | Not stated |
| Resource limits | CloudLinux isolation with 1, 2, 4 and 6 cores and 1, 2, 4 and 6 GB memory limits by plan | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Atlanta, Seattle or Amsterdam at checkout | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan |
| Uptime guarantee | The network page claims a 99.999% availability SLA and 99.99+% uptimes; the terms of service contain no uptime clause or credit schedule | No |
| Security | Imunify360 with real-time malware scanning and a web application firewall; Patchman optional on Basic and Standard, included above | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart |
| 5, 25 or unlimited mailboxes by plan, with webmail | Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | |
| Phone support | A US toll-free number on every page, with 24/7 ticket support | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock |
| Windows hosting | No | Not stated |
| Guaranteed resources | Not stated | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment |
| SSH | Not stated | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table |