Pressable vs HostPapa
Pressable and HostPapa compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Pressable scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
PressableWins overall
Automattic's managed WordPress host: dedicated PHP workers, four origins, failover, a 100 percent SLA, from $25 a month
Canadian cPanel host with phone support in 16 countries and five data centers; backups cost extra after year one
Pressable wins 3 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.7 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
Pressable leads on 3 sub-scores, HostPapa on 1. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, HostPapa is cheaper ($8.99/mo vs $20.83/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| Pressable | HostPapa | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | First year, on terms of one year or longer, select extensions; a non-refundable domain fee applies if you cancel in the first term |
| Free SSL | Included; a Jetpack Security licence comes with every plan | Standard certificate |
| Backups | Hourly database and daily full backups, restorable from the site dashboard, per the support policy | Not stated |
| Free migration | Unlimited site migrations on every plan | Yes |
| Free CDN | Built-in edge cache and global CDN across more than 24 edge locations | Not stated |
| Caching | Edge cache, OPcache, page cache and query cache | Not stated |
| Staging | One staging and one sandbox site per WordPress install on every Signature plan | On every plan |
| No | Not stated | |
| Dedicated resources | 5 dedicated PHP workers (5 vCPUs) per site with 512 MB each and burst capacity; no shared memory pools | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Los Angeles, Dallas, Ashburn or Amsterdam per site at creation, with an account default; a secondary server in another region takes over on failure | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 100 percent network, infrastructure and hardware SLA with a credit of 5 percent of the monthly fee per 30 minutes of downtime, up to the full month | 99.9% measured monthly, excluding scheduled maintenance, as a reasonable-efforts commitment; no credit schedule in the terms |
| Developer tools | SSH and WP-CLI described on the features pages, an API, an MCP server, DupliKits site templates, multisite and headless support | Not stated |
| Security | Jetpack Security, malware monitoring and threat response, Secure Hosting Alliance certification | Imunify360 basic on Essentials; Protection Power plus Imunify360 on Growth and above, free for the full term |
| Phone support | No | 24/7, local numbers in 16 countries |
| Automated backups | Not stated | 1 GB on Essentials and 5 GB on Growth free for the first year; a paid add-on afterwards |
| CDN | Not stated | Yes |
| Server resources | Not stated | Relative tiers 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x; cores, inodes and database size not published on the plan cards |
| Choice of data center | Not stated | Toronto, Buffalo, Miami, Los Angeles or Amsterdam, per the data centers page |
| Windows hosting | Not stated | No |