Kinsta vs HostPapa
Kinsta and HostPapa compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Kinsta scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
KinstaWins overall
Managed WordPress hosting from $30 a month with flat renewals, 30 data centers, edge caching and 14-day backups
Canadian cPanel host with phone support in 16 countries and five data centers; backups cost extra after year one
Kinsta wins 4 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.9 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
Kinsta leads on 4 sub-scores, HostPapa on 1. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, HostPapa is cheaper ($8.99/mo vs $30.00/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| Kinsta | HostPapa | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | First year, on terms of one year or longer, select extensions; a non-refundable domain fee applies if you cancel in the first term |
| Free SSL | Wildcard certificates through Cloudflare on every plan | Standard certificate |
| Backups | Daily automatic backups kept 14 days on the entry plans (20 or 30 days higher up), plus manual, downloadable and hourly add-on backups | Not stated |
| Free migration | Unlimited migrations by Kinsta's team | Yes |
| Free CDN | Cloudflare CDN with edge caching, 260+ points of presence per the pricing page; 125 GB of CDN bandwidth a month on the entry plans | Not stated |
| Caching | Server-level caching and edge caching through Cloudflare | Not stated |
| Staging | Free one-click staging environments on every plan | On every plan |
| No | Not stated | |
| Resource limits | Each site runs in its own container; plans are sized by server bandwidth or visits, storage and CDN bandwidth, with PHP worker counts in the compare table | Not stated |
| Data center choice | 30 locations chosen per site at creation | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% per month in the SLA updated 25 September 2025, with credits as a percentage of the monthly value once downtime passes 43 minutes; up to 99.99% on custom plans | 99.9% measured monthly, excluding scheduled maintenance, as a reasonable-efforts commitment; no credit schedule in the terms |
| Security | Fully managed WAF with DDoS protection, bot protection, free malware removal, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | Imunify360 basic on Essentials; Protection Power plus Imunify360 on Growth and above, free for the full term |
| Developer tools | SSH, WP-CLI, Git, DevKinsta local environment, Kinsta API, built-in APM | Not stated |
| Phone support | No | 24/7, local numbers in 16 countries |
| Windows hosting | No | No |
| Automated backups | Not stated | 1 GB on Essentials and 5 GB on Growth free for the first year; a paid add-on afterwards |
| CDN | Not stated | Yes |
| Server resources | Not stated | Relative tiers 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x; cores, inodes and database size not published on the plan cards |
| Choice of data center | Not stated | Toronto, Buffalo, Miami, Los Angeles or Amsterdam, per the data centers page |