Skip to content

Hostinger vs KnownHost

Hostinger and KnownHost compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Hostinger scores higher overall.

By Jennifer T. · Updated

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.

Verdict

8.0 out of 10

HostingerWins overall

Very cheap on a 48-month term, with an easy custom panel; the entry plan cuts backups and email

7.4 out of 10

KnownHost

Managed cPanel hosting since 2006 on LiteSpeed and NVMe with stated cores and RAM, daily backups and three locations

Hostinger wins 5 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (8.0 vs 7.4).

How do the scores compare?

Hostinger leads on 5 sub-scores, KnownHost on 1. Higher is better.

HostingerKnownHost
Performance8.0 (better)7.5
Uptime8.5 (better)7.0
Support8.0 (better)7.5
Features7.58.0 (better)
Value8.0 (better)7.0
Ease of use8.0 (better)7.5

Which one is faster and more reliable?

HostingerKnownHost
Overall score8.0 (better)7.4
Uptime (published)Kripesh Adwani 365 d vs TechRadar 30 d; methods differ99.96%100.00% (better)

Which one costs less?

On renewal, KnownHost is cheaper ($7.16/mo vs $10.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 13, 2026 (Hostinger) and Oct 14, 2026 (KnownHost). USD.
HostingerKnownHost
Cheapest planPremiumBasic
Intro price$2.99/mo (better)$3.47/mo
Renewal price$10.99/mo$7.16/mo (better)
Required term48 months36 months (better)
Websites31
Storage20 GB10 GB
Money back30 days30 days

What does each include?

HostingerKnownHost
Free domainFirst year only, on 12-month and longer termsNo
Free SSLYesEvery plan, every domain
BackupsWeekly on Premium; daily on Unlimited and Cloud StartupDaily JetBackup with 2-day and 1-week retention on every plan; extended retention sold as an add-on
Email hosting2 mailboxes per website on Premium, unlimited on the other plans; free for the first yearNot stated
CDNIncluded on Unlimited and Cloud Startup; listed as available on PremiumNot stated
Control panelhPanel, Hostinger's own panel, with an AI assistantNot stated
AI toolsAI website builder credits: 5 on Premium, 15 on the other plans, one-timeNot stated
EcommerceAvailable on every planNot stated
Fair usage limits3 GB per database, 300 databases, 300 FTP accounts, 400 cron jobsNot stated
Uptime guarantee99.9% per month; 5% credit of that month's fee, claimed within 30 daysThe network page claims a 99.999% availability SLA and 99.99+% uptimes; the terms of service contain no uptime clause or credit schedule
Choice of data center12 regions across North America, Europe, Asia and South AmericaNot stated
Phone supportNoA US toll-free number on every page, with 24/7 ticket support
Windows hostingNoNo
Free migrationNot statedMigration team copies files, databases and email and tests the site
Free CDNNot statedNo
CachingNot statedLiteSpeed Web Server with LSCache on every plan; Redis and Memcached optional
StagingNot statedNo
SSH, Git and cronNot statedEvery plan, with current PHP versions
Resource limitsNot statedCloudLinux isolation with 1, 2, 4 and 6 cores and 1, 2, 4 and 6 GB memory limits by plan
Data center choiceNot statedAtlanta, Seattle or Amsterdam at checkout
SecurityNot statedImunify360 with real-time malware scanning and a web application firewall; Patchman optional on Basic and Standard, included above
EmailNot stated5, 25 or unlimited mailboxes by plan, with webmail

Company facts

HostingerKnownHost
Control panelhPanel (Hostinger's own panel)cPanel with Softaculous
Data centers12 (better)3
Support channelschat, email, knowledge-baseticket, phone, knowledge-base
Founded20042006
Visit HostingerVisit KnownHost