Skip to content

SiteGround vs HostGator

SiteGround and HostGator compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. SiteGround scores higher overall.

By Jennifer T. · Updated

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.

Verdict

8.0 out of 10

SiteGroundWins overall

Managed-feel shared hosting on Google Cloud with daily backups and staging; the renewals are the price

7.4 out of 10

HostGator

Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging

SiteGround wins 4 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (8.0 vs 7.4).

How do the scores compare?

SiteGround leads on 4 sub-scores, HostGator on 0. Higher is better.

SiteGroundHostGator
Performance8.0 (better)7.5
Uptime8.5 (better)8.0
Support8.5 (better)7.0
Features8.5 (better)7.0
Value6.56.5
Ease of use8.08.0

Which one is faster and more reliable?

SiteGroundHostGator
Overall score8.0 (better)7.4
Uptime (published)HostingStep 243 d vs HostingStep 243 d; methods differ99.97%99.97%
Response time (published)HostingStep vs HostingStep; methods differ745 ms496 ms (better)

Which one costs less?

On renewal, HostGator is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $17.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 13, 2026 (SiteGround) and Oct 14, 2026 (HostGator). USD.
SiteGroundHostGator
Cheapest planStartUpHatchling
Intro price$2.99/mo (better)$3.75/mo
Renewal price$17.99/mo$10.99/mo (better)
Required term12 months (better)36 months
Websites110
Storage10 GB10 GB
Money back30 days30 days

What does each include?

SiteGroundHostGator
Free domainFirst year only; regular renewal fee after thatFirst year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year
Free SSLYesLet's Encrypt, auto-renewed
Daily backupsKept for 30 days; on-demand backups on GrowBig and GoGeekNot stated
CDNSiteGround CDN on Google Cloud, 170+ edge locationsNot stated
Email hostingUnlimited accounts with webmail and spam protectionNot stated
StagingGrowBig and GoGeek; GoGeek adds GitWordPress staging site on every plan
Free migrationAutomatic WordPress migrator on every plan; expert transfer by staffA free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available
CachingMultilevel caching with the Speed Optimizer pluginStatic content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer
WP-CLI and SSHYesNot stated
Fair-use limitsCPU seconds per hour 1,000 / 2,000 / 4,000; inodes 200k / 400k / 600k; 768 MB RAM per process; databases up to 1 GBNot stated
Uptime guarantee99.9% per month; 5% of that month's fee as a service-extension creditThe plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule
Choice of data center11 locations on Google Cloud, chosen at signupNot stated
Phone supportNoBaby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only
Windows hostingNoNo
BackupsNot statedWeekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own
Free CDNNot statedCloudflare with Argo routing on every plan
SSH and languagesNot statedSSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users
Resource limitsNot statedNo
Data center choiceNot statedNo
SecurityNot statedMalware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center
EmailNot statedUnlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial

Company facts

SiteGroundHostGator
Control panelSite Tools (SiteGround's own panel)cPanel behind the HostGator customer portal
Data centers11 (better)1
Support channelschat, ticket, knowledge-basechat, phone, knowledge-base
Founded20042002
Visit SiteGroundVisit HostGator