Pressable vs HostGator
Pressable and HostGator compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Pressable scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
PressableWins overall
Automattic's managed WordPress host: dedicated PHP workers, four origins, failover, a 100 percent SLA, from $25 a month
Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging
Pressable wins 3 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.7 vs 7.4).
How do the scores compare?
Pressable leads on 3 sub-scores, HostGator on 1. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, HostGator is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $20.83/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| Pressable | HostGator | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | First year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year |
| Free SSL | Included; a Jetpack Security licence comes with every plan | Let's Encrypt, auto-renewed |
| Backups | Hourly database and daily full backups, restorable from the site dashboard, per the support policy | Weekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own |
| Free migration | Unlimited site migrations on every plan | A free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available |
| Free CDN | Built-in edge cache and global CDN across more than 24 edge locations | Cloudflare with Argo routing on every plan |
| Caching | Edge cache, OPcache, page cache and query cache | Static content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer |
| Staging | One staging and one sandbox site per WordPress install on every Signature plan | WordPress staging site on every plan |
| No | Unlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial | |
| Dedicated resources | 5 dedicated PHP workers (5 vCPUs) per site with 512 MB each and burst capacity; no shared memory pools | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Los Angeles, Dallas, Ashburn or Amsterdam per site at creation, with an account default; a secondary server in another region takes over on failure | No |
| Uptime guarantee | 100 percent network, infrastructure and hardware SLA with a credit of 5 percent of the monthly fee per 30 minutes of downtime, up to the full month | The plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule |
| Developer tools | SSH and WP-CLI described on the features pages, an API, an MCP server, DupliKits site templates, multisite and headless support | Not stated |
| Security | Jetpack Security, malware monitoring and threat response, Secure Hosting Alliance certification | Malware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center |
| Phone support | No | Baby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only |
| SSH and languages | Not stated | SSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users |
| Resource limits | Not stated | No |
| Windows hosting | Not stated | No |