HostPapa vs GoDaddy
HostPapa and GoDaddy compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. HostPapa scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
HostPapaWins overall
Canadian cPanel host with phone support in 16 countries and five data centers; backups cost extra after year one
The largest registrar's cPanel hosting: three plans on a three-year term with a free domain and daily backups
HostPapa wins 4 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.3 vs 7.2).
How do the scores compare?
HostPapa leads on 4 sub-scores, GoDaddy on 2. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, HostPapa is cheaper ($8.99/mo vs $11.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| HostPapa | GoDaddy | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | First year, on terms of one year or longer, select extensions; a non-refundable domain fee applies if you cancel in the first term | First year on every plan, marked with an asterisk whose disclaimer the page keeps collapsed |
| Free SSL | Standard certificate | One year on Economy; unlimited certificates for all sites on Deluxe and Ultimate, auto-renewed through AutoSSL |
| Automated backups | 1 GB on Essentials and 5 GB on Growth free for the first year; a paid add-on afterwards | Not stated |
| Staging | On every plan | No |
| CDN | Yes | Not stated |
| Security | Imunify360 basic on Essentials; Protection Power plus Imunify360 on Growth and above, free for the full term | DDoS protection and network monitoring on every plan; a site security suite is included on the cards |
| Free migration | Yes | No |
| Server resources | Relative tiers 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x; cores, inodes and database size not published on the plan cards | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% measured monthly, excluding scheduled maintenance, as a reasonable-efforts commitment; no credit schedule in the terms | 99.9% per month in the hosting agreement, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee on request, usable for future purchases |
| Choice of data center | Toronto, Buffalo, Miami, Los Angeles or Amsterdam, per the data centers page | Not stated |
| Phone support | 24/7, local numbers in 16 countries | 24/7 chat, phone and email through GoDaddy Guides |
| Windows hosting | No | No |
| Backups | Not stated | Automatic daily backups, with recovery of the whole account from the previous day |
| Free CDN | Not stated | The page lists CDN and firewall among the included essentials without naming the provider |
| Caching | Not stated | No |
| Node.js and languages | Not stated | Node.js on every plan; the dashboard exposes CPU, memory, entry processes and I/O controls |
| Resource limits | Not stated | 250,000 inodes and 100 GB per account in the hosting agreement; no CPU or RAM figures on the plan page |
| Data center choice | Not stated | No |
| Not stated | Free email is listed on every plan without a mailbox count |