---
title: "Pressable vs HostGator: which is better in 2026?"
url: "https://hostidea.com/compare/hostgator-vs-pressable"
canonical: "https://hostidea.com/compare/hostgator-vs-pressable"
author: "Jennifer T."
generated: "2026-10-15"
note: "Markdown twin generated at build time from the same content as the HTML page. The HTML page is canonical."
---

# Pressable vs HostGator

Pressable and HostGator compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Pressable scores higher overall.

By [Jennifer T.](https://hostidea.com/authors/jennifer-t) · Updated Oct 14, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. [Disclosure](https://hostidea.com/disclosure).

## Verdict

[7.7 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[Pressable](https://hostidea.com/reviews/pressable)Wins overall

Automattic's managed WordPress host: dedicated PHP workers, four origins, failover, a 100 percent SLA, from $25 a month

[7.4 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator)

Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging

Pressable wins 3 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.7 vs 7.4).

## How do the scores compare?

Pressable leads on 3 sub-scores, HostGator on 1. Higher is better.

|     | [Pressable](https://hostidea.com/reviews/pressable) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | 8.0 | 7.5 |
| Uptime | 8.0 | 8.0 |
| Support | 8.0 | 7.0 |
| Features | 8.2 | 7.0 |
| Value | 6.0 | 6.5 |
| Ease of use | 8.0 | 8.0 |

## Which one is faster and more reliable?

|     | [Pressable](https://hostidea.com/reviews/pressable) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Overall score | 7.7 | 7.4 |
| Uptime (published)Hostingstep 243 d vs HostingStep 243 d; methods differ | 100.00% | 99.97% |
| Response time (published)Hostingstep vs HostingStep; methods differ | 320 ms | 496 ms |

## Which one costs less?

On renewal, HostGator is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $20.83/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 14, 2026 (Pressable) and Oct 14, 2026 (HostGator). USD.

|     | [Pressable](https://hostidea.com/reviews/pressable) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Cheapest plan | Signature 1 | Hatchling |
| Intro price | $20.83/mo | $3.75/mo |
| Renewal price | $20.83/mo | $10.99/mo |
| Required term | 12 months | 36 months |
| Websites | 1   | 10  |
| Storage | 20 GB | 10 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |

## What does each include?

|     | [Pressable](https://hostidea.com/reviews/pressable) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free domain | No  | First year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year |
| Free SSL | Included; a Jetpack Security licence comes with every plan | Let's Encrypt, auto-renewed |
| Backups | Hourly database and daily full backups, restorable from the site dashboard, per the support policy | Weekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own |
| Free migration | Unlimited site migrations on every plan | A free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available |
| Free CDN | Built-in edge cache and global CDN across more than 24 edge locations | Cloudflare with Argo routing on every plan |
| Caching | Edge cache, OPcache, page cache and query cache | Static content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer |
| Staging | One staging and one sandbox site per WordPress install on every Signature plan | WordPress staging site on every plan |
| Email | No  | Unlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial |
| Dedicated resources | 5 dedicated PHP workers (5 vCPUs) per site with 512 MB each and burst capacity; no shared memory pools | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Los Angeles, Dallas, Ashburn or Amsterdam per site at creation, with an account default; a secondary server in another region takes over on failure | No  |
| Uptime guarantee | 100 percent network, infrastructure and hardware SLA with a credit of 5 percent of the monthly fee per 30 minutes of downtime, up to the full month | The plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule |
| Developer tools | SSH and WP-CLI described on the features pages, an API, an MCP server, DupliKits site templates, multisite and headless support | Not stated |
| Security | Jetpack Security, malware monitoring and threat response, Secure Hosting Alliance certification | Malware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center |
| Phone support | No  | Baby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only |
| SSH and languages | Not stated | SSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users |
| Resource limits | Not stated | No  |
| Windows hosting | Not stated | No  |

## Company facts

|     | [Pressable](https://hostidea.com/reviews/pressable) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Control panel | MyPressable Control Panel (custom), with an API and an MCP server | cPanel behind the HostGator customer portal |
| Data centers | 5   | 1   |
| Support channels | chat, ticket, knowledge-base | chat, phone, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2010 | 2002 |

Visit Pressable (affiliate link: /go/pressable)Visit HostGator (affiliate link: /go/hostgator)
