---
title: "HostGator vs KnownHost: which is better in 2026?"
url: "https://hostidea.com/compare/hostgator-vs-knownhost"
canonical: "https://hostidea.com/compare/hostgator-vs-knownhost"
author: "Jennifer T."
generated: "2026-10-15"
note: "Markdown twin generated at build time from the same content as the HTML page. The HTML page is canonical."
---

# HostGator vs KnownHost

HostGator and KnownHost compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. They tie on overall score.

By [Jennifer T.](https://hostidea.com/authors/jennifer-t) · Updated Oct 14, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. [Disclosure](https://hostidea.com/disclosure).

## Verdict

[7.4 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator)

Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging

[7.4 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[KnownHost](https://hostidea.com/reviews/knownhost)

Managed cPanel hosting since 2006 on LiteSpeed and NVMe with stated cores and RAM, daily backups and three locations

Both hosts score 7.4 overall.

## How do the scores compare?

HostGator leads on 2 sub-scores, KnownHost on 3. Higher is better.

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [KnownHost](https://hostidea.com/reviews/knownhost) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | 7.5 | 7.5 |
| Uptime | 8.0 | 7.0 |
| Support | 7.0 | 7.5 |
| Features | 7.0 | 8.0 |
| Value | 6.5 | 7.0 |
| Ease of use | 8.0 | 7.5 |

## Which one is faster and more reliable?

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [KnownHost](https://hostidea.com/reviews/knownhost) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Overall score | 7.4 | 7.4 |
| Uptime (published)HostingStep 243 d vs TechRadar 30 d; methods differ | 99.97% | 100.00% |

## Which one costs less?

On renewal, KnownHost is cheaper ($7.16/mo vs $10.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 14, 2026 (HostGator) and Oct 14, 2026 (KnownHost). USD.

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [KnownHost](https://hostidea.com/reviews/knownhost) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Cheapest plan | Hatchling | Basic |
| Intro price | $3.75/mo | $3.47/mo |
| Renewal price | $10.99/mo | $7.16/mo |
| Required term | 36 months | 36 months |
| Websites | 10  | 1   |
| Storage | 10 GB | 10 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |

## What does each include?

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [KnownHost](https://hostidea.com/reviews/knownhost) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free domain | First year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year | No  |
| Free SSL | Let's Encrypt, auto-renewed | Every plan, every domain |
| Backups | Weekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own | Daily JetBackup with 2-day and 1-week retention on every plan; extended retention sold as an add-on |
| Free migration | A free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available | Migration team copies files, databases and email and tests the site |
| Free CDN | Cloudflare with Argo routing on every plan | No  |
| Caching | Static content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer | LiteSpeed Web Server with LSCache on every plan; Redis and Memcached optional |
| Staging | WordPress staging site on every plan | No  |
| SSH and languages | SSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users | Not stated |
| Resource limits | No  | CloudLinux isolation with 1, 2, 4 and 6 cores and 1, 2, 4 and 6 GB memory limits by plan |
| Data center choice | No  | Atlanta, Seattle or Amsterdam at checkout |
| Uptime guarantee | The plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule | The network page claims a 99.999% availability SLA and 99.99+% uptimes; the terms of service contain no uptime clause or credit schedule |
| Security | Malware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center | Imunify360 with real-time malware scanning and a web application firewall; Patchman optional on Basic and Standard, included above |
| Email | Unlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial | 5, 25 or unlimited mailboxes by plan, with webmail |
| Phone support | Baby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only | A US toll-free number on every page, with 24/7 ticket support |
| Windows hosting | No  | No  |
| SSH, Git and cron | Not stated | Every plan, with current PHP versions |

## Company facts

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [KnownHost](https://hostidea.com/reviews/knownhost) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Control panel | cPanel behind the HostGator customer portal | cPanel with Softaculous |
| Data centers | 1   | 3   |
| Support channels | chat, phone, knowledge-base | ticket, phone, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2002 | 2006 |

Visit HostGator (affiliate link: /go/hostgator)Visit KnownHost (affiliate link: /go/knownhost)
