---
title: "Hostinger vs HostGator: which is better in 2026?"
url: "https://hostidea.com/compare/hostgator-vs-hostinger"
canonical: "https://hostidea.com/compare/hostgator-vs-hostinger"
author: "Jennifer T."
generated: "2026-10-15"
note: "Markdown twin generated at build time from the same content as the HTML page. The HTML page is canonical."
---

# Hostinger vs HostGator

Hostinger and HostGator compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Hostinger scores higher overall.

By [Jennifer T.](https://hostidea.com/authors/jennifer-t) · Updated Oct 14, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. [Disclosure](https://hostidea.com/disclosure).

## Verdict

[8.0 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[Hostinger](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostinger)Wins overall

Very cheap on a 48-month term, with an easy custom panel; the entry plan cuts backups and email

[7.4 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator)

Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging

Hostinger wins 5 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (8.0 vs 7.4).

## How do the scores compare?

Hostinger leads on 5 sub-scores, HostGator on 0. Higher is better.

|     | [Hostinger](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostinger) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | 8.0 | 7.5 |
| Uptime | 8.5 | 8.0 |
| Support | 8.0 | 7.0 |
| Features | 7.5 | 7.0 |
| Value | 8.0 | 6.5 |
| Ease of use | 8.0 | 8.0 |

## Which one is faster and more reliable?

|     | [Hostinger](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostinger) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Overall score | 8.0 | 7.4 |
| Uptime (published)Kripesh Adwani 365 d vs HostingStep 243 d; methods differ | 99.96% | 99.97% |
| Response time (published)HostingStep vs HostingStep; methods differ | 447 ms | 496 ms |

## Which one costs less?

On renewal, Hostinger is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $10.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 13, 2026 (Hostinger) and Oct 14, 2026 (HostGator). USD.

|     | [Hostinger](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostinger) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Cheapest plan | Premium | Hatchling |
| Intro price | $2.99/mo | $3.75/mo |
| Renewal price | $10.99/mo | $10.99/mo |
| Required term | 48 months | 36 months |
| Websites | 3   | 10  |
| Storage | 20 GB | 10 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |

## What does each include?

|     | [Hostinger](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostinger) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free domain | First year only, on 12-month and longer terms | First year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year |
| Free SSL | Yes | Let's Encrypt, auto-renewed |
| Backups | Weekly on Premium; daily on Unlimited and Cloud Startup | Weekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own |
| Email hosting | 2 mailboxes per website on Premium, unlimited on the other plans; free for the first year | Not stated |
| CDN | Included on Unlimited and Cloud Startup; listed as available on Premium | Not stated |
| Control panel | hPanel, Hostinger's own panel, with an AI assistant | Not stated |
| AI tools | AI website builder credits: 5 on Premium, 15 on the other plans, one-time | Not stated |
| Ecommerce | Available on every plan | Not stated |
| Fair usage limits | 3 GB per database, 300 databases, 300 FTP accounts, 400 cron jobs | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% per month; 5% credit of that month's fee, claimed within 30 days | The plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule |
| Choice of data center | 12 regions across North America, Europe, Asia and South America | Not stated |
| Phone support | No  | Baby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only |
| Windows hosting | No  | No  |
| Free migration | Not stated | A free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available |
| Free CDN | Not stated | Cloudflare with Argo routing on every plan |
| Caching | Not stated | Static content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer |
| Staging | Not stated | WordPress staging site on every plan |
| SSH and languages | Not stated | SSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users |
| Resource limits | Not stated | No  |
| Data center choice | Not stated | No  |
| Security | Not stated | Malware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center |
| Email | Not stated | Unlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial |

## Company facts

|     | [Hostinger](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostinger) | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Control panel | hPanel (Hostinger's own panel) | cPanel behind the HostGator customer portal |
| Data centers | 12  | 1   |
| Support channels | chat, email, knowledge-base | chat, phone, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2004 | 2002 |

Visit Hostinger (affiliate link: /go/hostinger)Visit HostGator (affiliate link: /go/hostgator)
