---
title: "SiteGround vs GoDaddy: which is better in 2026?"
url: "https://hostidea.com/compare/godaddy-vs-siteground"
canonical: "https://hostidea.com/compare/godaddy-vs-siteground"
author: "Jennifer T."
generated: "2026-10-15"
note: "Markdown twin generated at build time from the same content as the HTML page. The HTML page is canonical."
---

# SiteGround vs GoDaddy

SiteGround and GoDaddy compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. SiteGround scores higher overall.

By [Jennifer T.](https://hostidea.com/authors/jennifer-t) · Updated Oct 14, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. [Disclosure](https://hostidea.com/disclosure).

## Verdict

[8.0 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[SiteGround](https://hostidea.com/reviews/siteground)Wins overall

Managed-feel shared hosting on Google Cloud with daily backups and staging; the renewals are the price

[7.2 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy)

The largest registrar's cPanel hosting: three plans on a three-year term with a free domain and daily backups

SiteGround wins 6 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (8.0 vs 7.2).

## How do the scores compare?

SiteGround leads on 6 sub-scores, GoDaddy on 0. Higher is better.

|     | [SiteGround](https://hostidea.com/reviews/siteground) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | 8.0 | 7.5 |
| Uptime | 8.5 | 8.0 |
| Support | 8.5 | 7.0 |
| Features | 8.5 | 6.5 |
| Value | 6.5 | 6.0 |
| Ease of use | 8.0 | 7.5 |

## Which one is faster and more reliable?

|     | [SiteGround](https://hostidea.com/reviews/siteground) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Overall score | 8.0 | 7.2 |
| Uptime (published)HostingStep 243 d vs HostingStep 365 d; methods differ | 99.97% | 99.99% |
| Response time (published)HostingStep vs HostingStep; methods differ | 745 ms | 344 ms |

## Which one costs less?

On renewal, GoDaddy is cheaper ($11.99/mo vs $17.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 13, 2026 (SiteGround) and Oct 14, 2026 (GoDaddy). USD.

|     | [SiteGround](https://hostidea.com/reviews/siteground) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Cheapest plan | StartUp | Economy |
| Intro price | $2.99/mo | $5.99/mo |
| Renewal price | $17.99/mo | $11.99/mo |
| Required term | 12 months | 36 months |
| Websites | 1   | 1   |
| Storage | 10 GB | 25 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |

## What does each include?

|     | [SiteGround](https://hostidea.com/reviews/siteground) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free domain | First year only; regular renewal fee after that | First year on every plan, marked with an asterisk whose disclaimer the page keeps collapsed |
| Free SSL | Yes | One year on Economy; unlimited certificates for all sites on Deluxe and Ultimate, auto-renewed through AutoSSL |
| Daily backups | Kept for 30 days; on-demand backups on GrowBig and GoGeek | Not stated |
| CDN | SiteGround CDN on Google Cloud, 170+ edge locations | Not stated |
| Email hosting | Unlimited accounts with webmail and spam protection | Not stated |
| Staging | GrowBig and GoGeek; GoGeek adds Git | No  |
| Free migration | Automatic WordPress migrator on every plan; expert transfer by staff | No  |
| Caching | Multilevel caching with the Speed Optimizer plugin | No  |
| WP-CLI and SSH | Yes | Not stated |
| Fair-use limits | CPU seconds per hour 1,000 / 2,000 / 4,000; inodes 200k / 400k / 600k; 768 MB RAM per process; databases up to 1 GB | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% per month; 5% of that month's fee as a service-extension credit | 99.9% per month in the hosting agreement, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee on request, usable for future purchases |
| Choice of data center | 11 locations on Google Cloud, chosen at signup | Not stated |
| Phone support | No  | 24/7 chat, phone and email through GoDaddy Guides |
| Windows hosting | No  | No  |
| Backups | Not stated | Automatic daily backups, with recovery of the whole account from the previous day |
| Free CDN | Not stated | The page lists CDN and firewall among the included essentials without naming the provider |
| Node.js and languages | Not stated | Node.js on every plan; the dashboard exposes CPU, memory, entry processes and I/O controls |
| Resource limits | Not stated | 250,000 inodes and 100 GB per account in the hosting agreement; no CPU or RAM figures on the plan page |
| Data center choice | Not stated | No  |
| Security | Not stated | DDoS protection and network monitoring on every plan; a site security suite is included on the cards |
| Email | Not stated | Free email is listed on every plan without a mailbox count |

## Company facts

|     | [SiteGround](https://hostidea.com/reviews/siteground) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Control panel | Site Tools (SiteGround's own panel) | cPanel behind GoDaddy's dashboard |
| Data centers | 11  | 1   |
| Support channels | chat, ticket, knowledge-base | chat, phone, email, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2004 | 1997 |

Visit SiteGround (affiliate link: /go/siteground)Visit GoDaddy (affiliate link: /go/godaddy)
