---
title: "HostGator vs GoDaddy: which is better in 2026?"
url: "https://hostidea.com/compare/godaddy-vs-hostgator"
canonical: "https://hostidea.com/compare/godaddy-vs-hostgator"
author: "Jennifer T."
generated: "2026-10-15"
note: "Markdown twin generated at build time from the same content as the HTML page. The HTML page is canonical."
---

# HostGator vs GoDaddy

HostGator and GoDaddy compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. HostGator scores higher overall.

By [Jennifer T.](https://hostidea.com/authors/jennifer-t) · Updated Oct 14, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. [Disclosure](https://hostidea.com/disclosure).

## Verdict

[7.4 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator)Wins overall

Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging

[7.2 out of 10](https://hostidea.com/methodology#scoring)

[GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy)

The largest registrar's cPanel hosting: three plans on a three-year term with a free domain and daily backups

HostGator wins 3 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.4 vs 7.2).

## How do the scores compare?

HostGator leads on 3 sub-scores, GoDaddy on 0. Higher is better.

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | 7.5 | 7.5 |
| Uptime | 8.0 | 8.0 |
| Support | 7.0 | 7.0 |
| Features | 7.0 | 6.5 |
| Value | 6.5 | 6.0 |
| Ease of use | 8.0 | 7.5 |

## Which one is faster and more reliable?

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Overall score | 7.4 | 7.2 |
| Uptime (published)HostingStep 243 d vs HostingStep 365 d; methods differ | 99.97% | 99.99% |
| Response time (published)HostingStep vs HostingStep; methods differ | 496 ms | 344 ms |

## Which one costs less?

On renewal, HostGator is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $11.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.

Prices verified Oct 14, 2026 (HostGator) and Oct 14, 2026 (GoDaddy). USD.

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Cheapest plan | Hatchling | Economy |
| Intro price | $3.75/mo | $5.99/mo |
| Renewal price | $10.99/mo | $11.99/mo |
| Required term | 36 months | 36 months |
| Websites | 10  | 1   |
| Storage | 10 GB | 25 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |

## What does each include?

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free domain | First year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year | First year on every plan, marked with an asterisk whose disclaimer the page keeps collapsed |
| Free SSL | Let's Encrypt, auto-renewed | One year on Economy; unlimited certificates for all sites on Deluxe and Ultimate, auto-renewed through AutoSSL |
| Backups | Weekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own | Automatic daily backups, with recovery of the whole account from the previous day |
| Free migration | A free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available | No  |
| Free CDN | Cloudflare with Argo routing on every plan | The page lists CDN and firewall among the included essentials without naming the provider |
| Caching | Static content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer | No  |
| Staging | WordPress staging site on every plan | No  |
| SSH and languages | SSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users | Not stated |
| Resource limits | No  | 250,000 inodes and 100 GB per account in the hosting agreement; no CPU or RAM figures on the plan page |
| Data center choice | No  | No  |
| Uptime guarantee | The plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule | 99.9% per month in the hosting agreement, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee on request, usable for future purchases |
| Security | Malware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center | DDoS protection and network monitoring on every plan; a site security suite is included on the cards |
| Email | Unlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial | Free email is listed on every plan without a mailbox count |
| Phone support | Baby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only | 24/7 chat, phone and email through GoDaddy Guides |
| Windows hosting | No  | No  |
| Node.js and languages | Not stated | Node.js on every plan; the dashboard exposes CPU, memory, entry processes and I/O controls |

## Company facts

|     | [HostGator](https://hostidea.com/reviews/hostgator) | [GoDaddy](https://hostidea.com/reviews/godaddy) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Control panel | cPanel behind the HostGator customer portal | cPanel behind GoDaddy's dashboard |
| Data centers | 1   | 1   |
| Support channels | chat, phone, knowledge-base | chat, phone, email, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2002 | 1997 |

Visit HostGator (affiliate link: /go/hostgator)Visit GoDaddy (affiliate link: /go/godaddy)
